Sports Desk, New Delhi. The 18th season of IPL is starting from Saturday. The first match is being played between the defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore and a controversy erupted in the very first match.
Sunil Narine became the reason for this. Narine’s foot touched the wicket, but still he was not given a hitwicket.
Many people are calling it wrong. Usually when a batsman hits his bat or any part of the body on the wicket, then he is given a hitwicket out. However, this did not happen in Narine’s case. The umpire not giving him out is not against the rules but according to the rules.
What happened?
In the eighth over of Kolkata Knight Riders’ innings, Narine’s foot touched the stump, but he was not given out. This ball was bowled by RCB bowler Rashiq Salam Dar which was wide. Narine tried to take the ball outside the off stump on his bat, but missed and the ball became wide. During this, his foot hit the stump. This incident happened on the fourth ball of the over. Everyone hoped that the danger to Narine was averted, but it did not happen. The umpire did not give him out.
What is the rule?
The umpire not giving out is completely according to the rules. This out was not given because the umpire had already given the ball wide. According to MCC rule 35.1.1, the batsman is hit wicket out until the ball becomes dead. After the umpire’s decision, the ball becomes dead and the same happened here. The umpire declared the ball wide and after this Narine’s foot hit the stump. That is why he was not given out.
Aamir Ahmad Fateh is a seasoned digital marketer and experienced news writer with over 7 years of expertise in covering political affairs, social issues, technology, sports, and Bollywood. He is the founder and chief editor of 24fnews.com, where he is dedicated to delivering accurate, unbiased, and timely news to a wide audience every day. His sharp insights and journalistic integrity make him a trusted voice in the digital news space.